The simulation glitched out HARD over the last seven days! No, really, if you'd told me a couple of years ago that Taylor Swift would be backing Dems while Kanye West would be sitting in the Oval Office showing President Donald Trump a hydrogen plane on his exceptionally secure iPhone, I'd have literally LOLed in your face. And I haven't even MENTIONED the whole Lana Del Rey-Azealia Banks beef! Anyways, it's safe to say that it's been a weird-ass week for music fans, and if we're to continue in this matrix, then we're going to need some seriously fire bops. Enter We Are: The Guard's Best Indie Songs. Featuring HEALTH, Maggie Rogers, boy pablo, RAT BOY, Sundara Karma, and more, this human-curated playlist is sure to see us through whatever the simulation has in store for us over the next seven days!



It's been two years, but FMLYBND are finally back with “Wasting My Time .” The song – which We Are: The Guard was recently honored to premiere – finds the Santa Barbara outfit switching up the synths for something a little more organic, with frontman Mac Montgomery oozing an undeniable California cool as he sings about getting out of bed and skating down to the coffee shop over a breezy blend of acoustics and marimbas.



Following on from the release of “MASS GRAVE” – their collaboration with Soccer Mommy and Purity Ring's Corrin Roddick – Los Angeles noise rockers HEALTH return with “BODY/PRISON.” Produced alongside Parisian electronic musician Perturbator, “BODY/PRISON” is basically what I imagine the end of the world will sound like, with HEALTH's ghostly vocals hovering over screeching-tyre synths as drums and bass destroy everything in sight.



Maggie Rogers takes time out from protesting in order to share her latest single “Light On.” The song – which features on her forthcoming debut album Heard It in a Past Life – finds Maggie addressing her struggles with her rise to fame after THAT Pharrell Williams moment, with the 24-year-old thanking her fans for lighting her way through the darkness over an expansively pounding Fleetwood Mac-worthy synth pop production.



One year on from going viral with the Mac DeMarco-channeling “Everytime,” Bergen's boy pablo return with another jangle pop delight in the form of “Feeling Lonely.” “I woke up this morning/Feeling lonely/You were gone, and my cell phone too/But what is this feeling?/Empty inside my head/Feels like a heart attack,” begins the glorious Soy Pablo EP cut, which is basically the song of the summer, even though it's actually October. Climate change is real, people!



Chelmsford's RAT BOY collaborates with Tim Armstrong on his attitude-packed latest single, and it's safe to say that my inner punk kid is HERE for it! No, really, as someone who spent pretty much all of high school listening to Rancid and Operation Ivy, I couldn't be more excited for the urgent, energetic “INTERNATIONALLY UNKNOWN,” which is taken from RAT BOY's forthcoming second album of the same name.



Great Good Fine Ok are back and sounding funkier than ever on their latest single. Jon Sandler and Luke Moellman are sure to have you reaching for your dancing shoes with the uplifting groove “Easy,” which Great Good Fine Ok reveal started out as being about a failing relationship before transforming into something far bigger. “There are a lot of factors in the world right now that seem to be making life harder than usual for everyone,” say the New York City duo. “'Nobody said life was easy' has become a comforting expression. But, we're all in this together, and as the song's bridge declares, 'we'll be just fine!'”



THEY. continue to push the boundaries of R&B on “What I Know Now.” The Mind of a Genius signees enlist the help of Wiz Khalifa for the latest single to be unveiled from their forthcoming Fireside EP, with the duo looking back at a toxic relationship over a guitar-heavy instrumental that showcases THEY.'s love for everything alternative.



Ahead of the release of their debut album Even Though You're Gone in December, Portland duo Echos have shared perhaps their most anthemic offering to date. With frontwoman Lexi Norton's cinematically soaring vocals coming surrounded by walls upon walls of epic drums, “Saints” is an ode to taking no bullshit that kind of reminds me of “Bring Me to Life”-era Evanescence.



Reading's Sundara Karma are inviting us down the rabbit hole on their groovy first single since the release of their 2017 debut album Youth Is Only Ever Fun in Retrospect. “Illusions” is a vibrantly kaleidoscopic psychedelic trip that lasts for just over five minutes, with frontman Oscar Pollock revealing that the song is about “love and positivity and the ability to recognise that everything around us is temporary.” Tune in and drop out.



Well, isn't this totally badass? I mean it, Martha Hill is packing one hell of a punch with “Wallflower” – a three-and-a-half-minute chugger that hears the Newcastle upon Tyne artist tackling the topic of social anxiety and “how every person is made up of many different characters that they invent for themselves” over a killer combination of guitar riffs and handclaps.


Follow We Are: The Guard's Best Indie Daily! on Spotify for more! x

Photo by Joshua Rawson-Harris on Unsplash


Jess Grant is a frustrated writer hailing from London, England. When she isn't tasked with disentangling her thoughts from her brain and putting them on paper, Jess can generally be found listening to The Beatles, or cooking vegetarian food.