Back in 2018, members of the band Chvrches expressed sincere admiration for legendary video game creator Hideo Kojima. A year later they’ve released the titular track on the soundtrack for Kojima’s highly anticipated new game Death Stranding: Timefall.

According to their press release, Playstation claims Chvrches was “inspired” by the video game when writing this new song. I was similarly inspired to show up to work on time today.

“Death Stranding” is a hopeful and cinematic song, especially considering last we heard from Chvrches they told us ‘love is dead’.  The song slowly builds before its soaring and highly emotive chorus. “You can take my heart. Hold it together as we fall apart,” Lauren Mayberry repeatedly cries.



In a statement, the band had this to say about the track:

“We were really excited about the opportunity to work with Kojima because we have been fans of his work for a long time. He has always been such a visionary in the gaming world and we were honored to be involved in the project. The concept of “Death Stranding” is so unique and really felt to us like it was challenging people to care about the world they create—in the game and otherwise.”

All PR-speak and commercial considerations aside, this song is definitely dope.

Death Stranding is due out next month. The soundtrack also features new songs from Bring Me the Horizon, Major Lazer & Khalid, The Neighbourhood, and others. The album will drop the same day as the game.

Death Stranding: Timefall Track List:

1. “Trigger” Major Lazer & Khalid
2. “Ghost” Au/Ra & Alan Walker
3. “Death Stranding” CHVRCHES
4. “Yellow Box” The Neighbourhood
5. “Meanwhile…In Genova” The S.L.P.
6. “Ludens” Bring Me the Horizon
7. “Born In The Slumber” Flora Cash
8. “Sing To Me” MISSIO


Calvin Paradise is not any one thing. The half-hearted vagabond and forgetful luddite currently resides in Los Angeles and how he spends his time is none of your damned business.