No one ever fully explained to me just what in the hell trip hop was/is, but I did find out on several different occasions that Tricky and Massive Attack are basically responsible for the genre. Tricky's got a new record coming out this year and its single, "Nicotine Love (Feat. Francesca Belmonte)," is a top new song.

For his new album title, his 11th solo LP, Tricky decided to go with his given name: Adrian Thaws. The Italian-Icelandic singer and long-time Tricky collaborator, Francesca Belmonte, lends her voice to the track. Much like the band behind the beats, Belmonte isn't a one-trick pony. She bends and molds her voice to fit the various moods of the song. She's sultry, monotoned, and energized when she needs to be. Tricky's mastery doesn't need any added words from me, but it's present here and it's fantastic. Listen to "Nicotine Love" below:



Adrian Thaws is out September 8th via False Idols, Thaws' own label. You can find the track listing below:

01: “Sun Down” (Feat. Tirzah)
02: “Lonnie Listen” (Feat. Mykki Blanco & Francesca Belmonte)
03: “Something In The Way” (Feat. Francesca Belmonte)
04: “Keep Me In Your Shake” (Feat. Nneka)
05: “The Unloved (Skit)”
06: “Nicotine Love” (Feat. Francesca Belmonte)
07: “Gangster Chronicles” (Feat. Bella Gotti)
08: “I Had A Dream” (Feat. Francesca Belmonte)
09: “My Palestine Girl” (Feat. Blue Daisy)
10: “Why Don’t You” (Feat. Bella Gotti)
11: “Silly Games” (Feat. Tirzah)
12: “Right Here” (Feat. Oh Land)
13: “Silver Tongue – When You Go”

Thanks for stopping by Bitcandy, where we dance with dark hearts and pink stars. 

About Calvin Paradise

Calvin Paradise manages to live a productive life despite a childhood of home schooling and suffering from what some doctors have called the worst case of Groucho Marx's Syndrome in recorded history.